A Look Back at the Noughties–Episode 1

The Noughties were an interesting decade for me for sure.  It was awesome to survive that whole Y2K scare and to be enjoying singlehood in the city.  But like all good things, it didn’t last long.  Apart from the fact that I didn’t like our new president (sorry Dad, although I’m sure you knew this),  I felt really ripped off with how it all went down.  Not long after was the most devastating tragedy to come to our generation and I really don’t have or need words to express the depth of that.  What followed was a fog of muck and mire that included the Patriot Act, the Afghanistan War, the Iraq War, Hurricane Katrina, etc., etc., etc….

Technologically, the world was moving faster than a William Gibson novel.  CDs became relics as our entire collection could now fit on one tiny little machine that we could bring with us anywhere.  Our phones became mobile, computers became mobile.  In a transient city, we could finally cut the tether and we embraced our transient devices.

On a personal note, I did lay eyes on a devastatingly handsome stranger across a crowded room.  Okay, it was a smoke filled gay bar and there were frozen cosmos and ABBA involved, but that’s merely set dressing.  First comes love, then comes marriage, then after a full moon, 6 centimeters of dilation, an epidermal and a Liev Shrieber sighting, I welcomed my Jackson Miles Moran to this nutty, nutball world.  He was named after 2 great improvisors and I have no doubt that he will continue to make this world a better place.

I chose to explore the blackout of August 14, 2003 because although I watched the events unfold from an air conditioned home in the Jersey Shore with a margarita in my hand and secretly loved getting to call in sick to work and take an extra long weekend with my family, I was moved by the camaraderie that surrounded the events and the dozens of amazing stories that I heard from that weekend when I finally made it back to the city.  I think that finding out that there were no terrorists behind that gave people the giant sigh of relief that they were holding on to for 2 years; the sigh we wish we could have had on September 11, 2001.  I wanted to explore the intimacy that exists between people in the face of events that are so large.  I wanted to look at the great divide that I remember so well post 9/11: the die hard NY loyalists and the folks that felt ready to cash in their chips.  

I’m still here in this city, although in Brooklyn and living a life so completely different than the one that began that decade dancing on a table top in a Belgian restaurant that has since become an apple megastore.  Being on the other side of the Naughties has been good to me.  I am grateful for the decade that earned me my family, a collection of amazing friends, a broader view of the world and a soft spot for an “I ♥ NY” t-shirt.

Get to know…Melissa Moran.

2 thoughts on “A Look Back at the Noughties–Episode 1

  1. You are a amazing women and loving and devoted wife/mother. I am as proud of you as the first day i set my eyes on you the day you were born. Keep that beautiful smile and all the good work you are doing I love you my angel. Mom

Leave a Reply

